Much ado about nothing I guess.

I got to Cincy around 4:30 and checked into my hotel room. They upgraded me to a suite – fuck yes. I kept thinking, “Okay, you can get through this and then you’ll be back in your room and happy.”

What I didn’t realize was that my lovely bachelorette counterparts had been drinking since their mimosas at breakfast.

One thing to get out of the way:

When I lived in Cincinnati, Over The Rhine was not a nice neighborhood. Basically 38th street in Indy. In the last few years, the area has been completely overhauled. I took an Uber down to The Eagle, where the ladies were, and I couldn’t believe I was walking down Vine Street. Like walking down Vine Street. My mind was completely blown.

We had a drink there and then went to Nada for dinner. I’m not a snob when it comes to food but I was less than impressed with their food. The tacos at Bakersfield are better and they’re served on pizza pans. After that we went to Lachey’s Bar. I still have my feelings about that toolbelt but the place was pretty awesome. We had a place in downtown Indy that was very similar that was perfect to watch Bengals games.

After that, we went to Rhinegeist. I think I spelled that correctly. Interesting place. It’s basically like an open warehouse brewery. They have cornhole, ping pong tables, and a dance floor. There’s a line like Cedar Point to get to the roof bar. We had a drink downstairs and then went up to the roof. Very crowded but the view was pretty amazing. I did witness a very drunk girl attempt to throw her drink on some guy.

I started to notice the ladies fading fast. It was about 12:15am and they wanted to head back to their hotel. I was invited to continue the festivities, but I have a feeling they’re going to bed very soon. I declined and got an Uber back to my hotel and actually had a great conversation with my driver. He got a kick out of my reaction about OTR and said that many people who haven’t been downtown in so many years have the same blown away expressions.

I’m now sitting in my bed, watching SNL, I have my fan, my laptop, and a big-ass bed to myself.

If I wanted to spend another $200, I would totally spend another night just to be.

Tomorrow morning we’re meeting for brunch and then I get to head back home.

The girl that planned everything apologized profusely so I’m good with it all. I know I bitched and moaned a lot but it was due to my own anxiety of not knowing anything. Now that the night is over and I’m in my happy little room, I’m good. My SIL was happy and kept hugging me and telling me how happy she was that I was there.

The only hiccup of the night was with one of the other bridesmaids. She lives in New York and I knew her from when she worked with the husband’s old company in Cincinnati. She was fine at dinner and then something just flipped. She has an early flight tomorrow and has to get up at 3am but she was just suddenly very intense and needing to get back to the hotel. Maybe just tired but the whole thing put a damper on the SIL’s mood.

I truly gave no shits and did my bridal duty best to steer the mood back into a happier place.

Other than that, pretty good evening.

Note to myself to stop being such an asshole.